In Santa’s Sack

Top Ten Books That I Would Be Pleased To Receive For Christmas 

A previous Top Ten list has covered the books that I think I will be receiving for Christmas/will be making a concerted effort to track down over Christmas (Christmas Book List), but a few more books have caught my eye since then so I may as well start another list. Prompt from The Broke and the Bookish.

1. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

I had seen several good reviews but was still a little undecided, but then I watched A Model Recommends’ ‘Top Books for Christmas’ video and her recommendation has sold me on it.

2. Latin: Story of a World Language – Jurgen Leonhardt

I studied Latin at uni for several years so I’m always interested to learn new things about it.

3. Jean Galbraith: Writer in a Valley – Meredith Fletcher

A biography of (if I remember the review correctly) a self-taught botanist and incredibly popular garden writer who built her career on her observation and knowledge of the plants that grew in her local area.

4. Why Aren’t We Dead Yet? – Idan Ben-Barak

A user-friendly book about the immune system, which I know very little about.

5. The End of Days – Jenny Erpenbeck (Aller Tage Abend in the original German)

The review that I read almost made The End of Days sound like reading a Choose Your Own Adventure book from front to back, as the plot explores the possible paths one girl’s life could take, including the many different ways in which she could die.

6. Remarkable Plants That Shape Our World – Helen and William Bynum

Explores the ways in which 80 different plants have shaped the world we live in, including food crops and medicinal plants. It also looks pretty, which helps.

7. The Fictional Woman – Tara Moss

Moss mixes memoir and research to examine the many different ways that women are represented, through lenses such as motherhood, body image and women in politics.

8. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

I want to read this before I see the movie, and more particularly, before I accidentally find out the ending because everyone else in the world has already read it and so assume that I have too.

9. Poirot and Me – David Suchet

I really enjoy the ITV series of Poirot, and David Suchet has played Hercule Poirot for over 20 years, so I don’t think that I can really go wrong here.

10. The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco

It must be a classic for a reason, right? I almost scored a second hand copy for the princely sum of $1, but someone had written in all the margins in biro and I just can’t read a book that’s been annotated like that.

4 thoughts on “In Santa’s Sack

Leave a Reply

