When In Doubt, Read It Again

Top Ten Favourite Books to Re-Read

Freebie prompt from the Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday

If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.

– Oscar Wilde

1. The Hounds of the Morrigan – Pat O’Shea

(nobody dies, good triumphs over evil, and two cackling, cigar smoking, tobacco chewing women with unlikely hair live in a greenhouse and are bad at their jobs)

2. Any of the Discworld books by Terry Pratchett, especially Small Gods, Feet of Clay, MaskeradeJingo and Night Watch.

(easy to read, social commentary that doesn’t browbeat you. Maskerade is also a Phantom of the Opera spoof which is always fun)

3. Vanity Fair – W.M. Thackeray

(Becky Sharp’s scheming never gets old)

4. City of Saints and Madmen – Jeff Vandermeer

(I always notice something new each time I re-read, and as a collection of short stories it’s easy to drop in and out, or even read the stories out of the set order)

5. Jane Austen’s novels

(a slightly embarrassing admission, I struggle to keep the plots and characters of Persuasion, Mansfield Park and Northanger Abbey separate in my head, and repeated re-reading doesn’t seem to help. Yet it doesn’t happen for P&P or S&S, odd really)

6. The Black SwanMercedes Lackey

(a retelling of Swan Lake from the Black Swan’s perspective, I have just now decided that I need a copy of this book as it is possibly the only book I have borrowed from the library on more than one occasion)

7. Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot detective stories, particularly Evil Under the Sun, After the Funeral and The Body in the Library.

(some of the plots are better than others, but they’re generally all interesting enough to pass an hour or two with. I’ve also noticed that there are some which, like the Austen novels, are somehow unmemorable so I can read them over and over and still be surprised)

8. Princes – Sonya Hartnett

(nostalgia is a powerful thing, this is still one of my favourite books even 15 years after I first read it)

9. Looking for Jake – China Miéville

(a quick fix when I fancy some weirdness but don’t want to commit to a novel)

10. Green Monkey Dreams – Isobelle Carmody

(short stories again, this time from one of my favourite authors in high school. This has just reminded me that I should re-read the Obernewtyn Chronicles, as Goodreads has just informed me that there is not one, but two, new (to me) books in the series)

2 thoughts on “When In Doubt, Read It Again

Leave a Reply

