Coulda, Shoulda, Woulda

Top 10 Books That I Haven’t Read Yet But Do Intend To (One Day)

Top Ten prompt from The Broke and the Bookish.

1. The Lord of the Rings and The HobbitJ.R.R. Tolkien

I have copies of all of them, I’ve seen the movies (well, not the second or third Hobbit movies, my patience can only extend so far) but every time I go to read them, I fall at the first hurdle. I’ve started The Hobbit about five times, Fellowship at least twice, and even started Two Towers by opening at a random page and reading from there. One day I will find the strength to power through (not just mental strength either, I only have the hardback copies so they’re hardly user friendly).

2. Middlemarch – George Eliot

I have a copy (one of those cute fabric covered hardback copies that Penguin released a few years ago) and yet I’ve just never got around to it (it doesn’t help that a friend has already read Middlemarch and declared it boring). Looking at the list of Penguin classics with the pretty covers, I could actually have just put the link as my list. My classics game is pretty poor now that I think about it.

3. Good Omens – Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

As a diehard Terry Pratchett fan, this is just embarrassing. I think I may have tried to read it once, many years ago, but as it wasn’t Discworld I wasn’t particularly interested. Childishly, I would like to mention that my interest is because of Terry Pratchett and despite Neil Gaiman, as I am apparently one of only five people on this planet who are not enamoured of Gaiman’s writing. Pratchett 4 EVA!

4. The rest of the Wheel of Time series – Robert Jordan

I think I got as far as book five about ten years ago and as the series is now finished at fourteen books, plus a prequel and some sort of mid-series prologue and companion books etc., I have some way still to go. I have most of the books though (bought in a futile attempt to get around to reading them), so I’ll be ready when the mood finally takes me.

5. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

Triumphantly bought a copy for the princely sum of $1 in a country bookshop with inconvenient opening hours (what kind of bookshop shuts at 12pm on a Saturday when it’s not open on Sunday?). A lady in Borders (sometimes I miss Borders, just a little bit) once told me that I should definitely read Midnight’s Children, as it was one of her favourite books (I was holding a copy at the time, it wasn’t completely out of the blue),

6. The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco

Ditto. Bought a copy cheap and now it mocks me from the shelf of unread books.

7. Emma – Jane Austen

Another embarrassing admission, I have somehow managed to avoid reading Emma while remaining an immense fondness for Jane Austen. I think it may stem from seeing the not especially good movie adaptations when I was young. In the American version, Gwyneth Paltrow was unconvincing and Ewan McGregor had terrible hair, while the British version had Kate Beckinsale, who is British at least (she’s much better in Cold Comfort Farm) and Mark Strong with terrible hair. IMDb informs me that both were made in 1996, so that is today’s useless trivia.

8. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

I’m still quite surprised that I haven’t accidentally discovered whodunnit yet.

9. Gentlemen Prefer Blondes – Anita Loos

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, starring Jane Russell and Marilyn Monroe, is one my favourite movies ever (there’s an excellent review of the movie here), but sadly I didn’t even know it was based on this book until very recently. A mistake I intend to rectify just as soon as I can find a decent copy.

10. Seven Little Australians – Ethel Turner

When I was in primary school, the librarian tried repeatedly to convince me to read this book, but I resisted for some reason. Possibly because I was snobby and didn’t want to read something Australian. Silly me.

3 thoughts on “Coulda, Shoulda, Woulda

  1. THE LORD OF THE RINGS was really popular I have not watched the movie or read the book but I hope you enjoy it

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Top Ten | legolegislegimus

Leave a Reply

