Autumn Reading

Top Ten Books On My Autumn Reading List

I’m doing fairly well at sticking to my new year’s resolutions of reading the books I already have (with a get out clause regarding library books as they don’t cost anything), but my list of books to get hold of keeps getting longer. Top Ten Tuesday prompt from the Broke and the Bookish.

1. The Black Swan – Mercedes Lackey

(re-reading a book after a goodly amount of years is fun if for nothing else than which bits you’d forgotten)

2. Star of the Morning: The Life and Times of Lady Hester Stanhope – Kirsten Ellis

(Hester Stanhope was an adventurer who packed in her aristocratic life and from what I understand, proceeded to do whatever she wanted)

3. The Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Revelled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime – Judith Flanders

(as I continue my inadvertent quest to read every book that Judith Flanders has ever written)

4. Love, Sex and Tragedy: How The Ancient World Shapes Our Lives – Simon Goldhill

(this was recommended reading in my Classics class, a decade later I will finally get around to reading it!)

5. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

(because I can never quite manage to read books while they’re popular)

6. The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell

7. Australian History in Seven QuestionsJohn Hirst

(lucky number slevin)

8. The Bloody Chamber and Other StoriesAngela Carter

(if the person with the library copy ever deigns to return it)

9. Poirot and Me – David Suchet (and Geoffrey Wansell)

(this will probably jump up the list if I’m honest)

10. Consuelo & Alva Vanderbilt: The Story of a Daughter and a Mother in the Gilded AgeAmanda Mackenzie Stuart

(meanwhile, in the American equivalent of Victorian London)

Bonus Round: 11. The Anchoress: A Novel – Robyn Cadwallader

(might have to clear the decks and sneak in a library hold for this one)

2 thoughts on “Autumn Reading

Leave a Reply

