Classics Booktag

Look who’s prolific today, two posts in one day? That will surely never happen again, so enjoy the moment everybody!

I felt like filling in a little questionnaire so I’ve found the Classics Booktag from It’s A Books World (via Eclectic Tales).

1. An Overhyped Classic You Didn’t Really Like

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Jane EyreCharlotte Brontë

Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

I’ve got three, but I’ll admit that they weren’t read under the best of circumstances (Great Expectations while away for work, and Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights for first year Literature, a class I hated with the fire of a thousand suns). It also looks like I’m hating on the Brontës, but I do want to read Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë. I guess if I don’t like that then I’ll know the Brontës aren’t for me.

2. Favourite Time Period To Read About

English Regency into Victorian, the 1800s basically. This is probably when most of the books considered ‘classics’ were written (Austen, Dickens, Brontës etc.).

3. Favourite Fairy Tale

 I’ve always had a fondness for Bluebeard, which is bizarre as the whole basis of the story is wife murder and those damn women being insatiably curious (because the myth of Pandora is apparently not enough). I guess it was the creepy element, as there’s no real way to sanitise the story, unlike the fairy tales that have been Disney-fied.

4. The Most Embarrassing Classic That You Haven’t Read Yet

Probably Emma by Jane AustenI think I’ve read all Austen’s others, but I didn’t care for the Gwyneth Paltrow movie adaptation, so that probably put me off.

5. Top Five Classics That You Would Like To Read (Soon)

Emma – Jane Austen (haven’t read it, should have done by now)

Middlemarch – George Eliot (it’s on my shelf already)

David Copperfield – Charles Dickens (ditto)

Inferno – Dante (ditto)

La Morte D’Arthur – Thomas Malory (ditto)

6. Favourite Modern Book/Series Based On A Classic

Wyrd Sisters (based on Shakespeare’s Macbeth, Hamlet and King Lear) and Maskerade (based on The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux), both by Terry Pratchett.

7. Favourite Movie/TV Series Based On A Classic

Favourite reinterpretation: Clueless (based on Emma by Jane Austen)

Favourite straight adaptations: Pride and Prejudice with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth, runners up: Vanity Fair with Natasha Little and Cold Comfort Farm with Kate Beckinsale.

8. Worst Classic-To-Movie Adaptation

Pride and Prejudice with a bonnet-less Keira Knightley, pigs in the kitchen and a stammering Mr Darcy. Appalling.

I haven’t seen it, but I have heard that the Reese Witherspoon Vanity Fair tries to make Becky the heroine. Did they not read the book, or even look at the cover? The subtitle is ‘a novel without a hero’ for a reason!

9. Favourite Edition(s) You’d Like To Collect More Classics From

The beautiful Penguin Classic Clothbound Classics, designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith.

10. An Under Hyped Classic You’d Recommend To Everyone

Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray. I bang on about it constantly for a reason, it’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

