Overrated?

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday shouldn’t be too difficult as I have a tendency to run screaming from extremely popular/suddenly hyped books or series, partly because I’m petty and childish, partly because I’m cheap and prefer to borrow books from the library and it’s impossible to get a hold of anything popular. I do sometimes come around and read a book long after the bandwagon has passed, Gone Girl and The Hunger Games are two examples of popular books that I did actually enjoy when I got around to them. Prompt from The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Twilight/Fifty Shades of Grey

It’s never going to happen. Ever.

2. The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

Pure laziness, I do intend to read these one day.

3. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel García Márquez

This seems to turn up on a lot of lists of people’s favourite books, but I cannot see the appeal.

4. Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts

I probably will end up reading this one day, just not quite yet.

5. On the Road – Jack Kerouac

I don’t tend to like people who enjoy reading this book, maybe it’s just a coincidence? (I doubt it).

6. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

I can’t think of a single aspect of this book that would make me want to read it.

7. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt

This could go either way, I think I might like it but I don’t feel that my life would be lacking in any way if I never read it.

8. The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

Meh.

9. The Slap – Christos Tsiolkas

They all just sound like awful people.

10. A Song of Ice and Fire – George R.R. Martin

One day this series (both books and television) will be complete and everyone in the world will find something more important to talk about.

6 thoughts on “Overrated?

  1. Totally agree with you on many of these, in fact a lot of the same books are on my TTT list today! I disagree about Love In The Time Of Cholera though. I love it.

  2. Big agree on Twilight, Fifty Shades, and (bleh!) On the Road. If you are looking for a nice summer read, I say yes to Rosie and Fault.

    Here’s my TTT post!

  3. Haha, I feel the same way about reading hyped books. Unless I’ve read something before the hype, it will take me years to finally get around to reading something that everyone else has already forgotten about. This is probably why I’ll never get around to reading LOTR, because it is likely to remain hyped for eternity.

Leave a Reply

